The Rigors of Math According to CCSS

Regular readers know that math and I get along about as well as oil and water, or perhaps open flames and gasoline. However, I do find it fascinating that the Common Core State Standards have what is called the “Standards for Mathematical Practice.” These are eight types of math expertise teachers should look for in their students—no matter the grade level. These include being able to…

1. Make sense of problems and persevere in solving them.

2. Reason abstractly and quantitatively.

3. Construct viable arguments and critique the reasoning of others.

4. Model with mathematics.

5. Use appropriate tools strategically.

6. Attend to precision.

7. Look for and make use of structure.

8. Look for and express regularity in repeated reasoning.

What do you think of these standards for your grade level? Are they all reasonable, or are some going to be easier to attain than others? And how are you measuring them?

Share your comments with us! Your opinions and input are incredibly valuable to The Mailbox editors and, especially, other teachers around the country dealing with these issues.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *